Help!

Turning Off All Track Changes/Reviewing/Versions Forever

 
Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Conversions RSS
Next:  Importing an Omniform file  
Author Message
claire
External


Since: Apr 20, 2004
Posts: 3



PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2004 3:16 pm    Post subject: Turning Off All Track Changes/Reviewing/Versions Forever
Archived from groups: microsoft>public>word>conversions (more info?)

I fix documents from hundreds of authors. The first thing
I do is to hit "Accept All Changes" and change to "Final."
I still have problems keeping this feature off.

Is there a way (other than going back to Word98) to turn
this feature off forever, for all documents? I'm not
talking about documents I create; I write only two or
three a day at most--I'm talking about the hundreds a
month I work on that come from other people.

I've looked in Word's Help file for anything to clue me in
on what they thought this feature would be used for, but
they seem just as clueless as I am.

Now I've found that a template I just wrote opens with the
test data I used to create styles and macros still there,
marked as deleted. I deleted it for a reason, didn't I?
I've tried resaving the template as Original and as Final,
but I can't get rid of the data.
Back to top
garfield-n-odie
External


Since: Oct 12, 2004
Posts: 512



PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2004 4:28 am    Post subject: Re: Turning Off All Track Changes/Reviewing/Versions Forever [Login to view extended thread Info.]
Archived from groups: per prev. post (more info?)

Changing to "Final" view on the Reviewing toolbar does not, in and of
itself, turn off track changes. It just turns off the display of
tracked changes. After you "Accept All Changes", make sure Track
Changes is not selected (the TRK indicator at the bottom of your screen
should be grayed out). You can't turn off Track Changes permanently.
You can create macros to automatically turn off Track Changes when you
open a document, to automatically Accept All Changes upon opening or
saving a document, etc.


claire wrote:

 > I fix documents from hundreds of authors. The first thing
 > I do is to hit "Accept All Changes" and change to "Final."
 > I still have problems keeping this feature off.
 >
 > Is there a way (other than going back to Word98) to turn
 > this feature off forever, for all documents? I'm not
 > talking about documents I create; I write only two or
 > three a day at most--I'm talking about the hundreds a
 > month I work on that come from other people.
 >
 > I've looked in Word's Help file for anything to clue me in
 > on what they thought this feature would be used for, but
 > they seem just as clueless as I am.
 >
 > Now I've found that a template I just wrote opens with the
 > test data I used to create styles and macros still there,
 > marked as deleted. I deleted it for a reason, didn't I?
 > I've tried resaving the template as Original and as Final,
 > but I can't get rid of the data.
 >
 >
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Conversions All times are: Eastern Time (US & Canada)
Page 1 of 1

 
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum