Help!

Website "hijacking"--- Help!


Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Web Developers RSS
Next:  Us Launches 'major Iraq Assault'  
Author Message
adkmom



Joined: Jun 18, 2003
Posts: 469



PostPosted: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:57 am    Post subject:

Hi all,

I have a problem that I’m hoping someone here familiar with web site control can help me with? I know nothing about this side of the web- how to control how a site is managed so that it cannot be “hijacked” by another site (where a search for the “real” site is picked up at another & then linked to a bunch of garbage sites).

Background first. The organization that I’m volunteering my time to is:

www.adknature.org

This is a new natural history museum, opening nearby, this summer. It is a phenomenal undertaking & has been created, & is being built, utilizing mainly volunteers such as myself.

The problem: While searching for the legitimate site, using certain keywords, this site has come up:

www.wonderful-people.com/Museums_and_galleries/Museums/Naturalhistory/...ex5/Nat (do not follow this link...see post #3)

I’d like to know what steps need to be taken in order to remove this site & to hopefully prevent such an occurrence in the future?

Step-by-step instructions are appreciated as I truly am out of my depths here.

Your insight, help, time is greatly appreciated by myself & on behalf of the museum,

Tracy
Back to top
silmaril8n



Joined: Jan 29, 2004
Posts: 1743

Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:54 pm    Post subject:

Have they copied your site or done anything wrong?
Back to top
AIM Address
wvperegrine



Joined: Nov 05, 2004
Posts: 21



PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 4:48 pm    Post subject:

I'd like to suggest that whoever moderates this board should delete that link she includes here, because it does indeed hijack your browser with multiple popup windows.

Now, to your question, Tracy. Read up on HTML standards and code that page with a proper DOCTYPE. There are lots of resources on the web and in books. Use a meaningful title in the head of your html that includes the proper name of the museum, not just "Wild Center Page" ... this will help search engines to rank your site higher than this lame hijacker when people are searching for the same keywords. Skip that "intro" page and get right into some strong museum-related content on the very first page people find. That also will strengthen your search rankings.

And when you find a hijacker, please don't help them to attract victims by posting a link to them on a public message board!

This hijacker's site is registered to:
Registrant:
Cyberfun Studio (WONDERFUL-PEOPLE-COM-DOM)
P.O. Box 2765
Sofia, BG-1000
Bulgaria
+359 2 9382232
danhost2000 RemoveThis @yahoo.com

and it's hosted by panhosting.com (according to the WHOIS registry). You could report them to the hosting service, but it isn't likely to do any good. So let's bomb Bulgaria, instead!
Back to top
adkmom



Joined: Jun 18, 2003
Posts: 469



PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:55 pm    Post subject:

Quote:

I'd like to suggest that whoever moderates this board should delete that link she includes here, because it does indeed hijack your browser with multiple popup windows.

Now, to your question, Tracy. Read up on HTML standards and code that page with a proper DOCTYPE. There are lots of resources on the web and in books. Use a meaningful title in the head of your html that includes the proper name of the museum, not just "Wild Center Page" ... this will help search engines to rank your site higher than this lame hijacker when people are searching for the same keywords. Skip that "intro" page and get right into some strong museum-related content on the very first page people find. That also will strengthen your search rankings.

And when you find a hijacker, please don't help them to attract victims by posting a link to them on a public message board!

This hijacker's site is registered to:
Registrant:
Cyberfun Studio (WONDERFUL-PEOPLE-COM-DOM)
P.O. Box 2765
Sofia, BG-1000
Bulgaria
+359 2 9382232
danhost2000 DeleteThis @yahoo.com

and it's hosted by panhosting.com (according to the WHOIS registry). You could report them to the hosting service, but it isn't likely to do any good. So let's bomb Bulgaria, instead!



I ran the whois- I know that much but not much more. Apologies for unleashing this site- as I said, originally, I have no idea how to go about this. I did go through Google to try to get some sort of guidance, but all I found there related to an actual registered name misuse- nothing like this.

I will pass on the advice RE: getting their site rank more towards the top. In fact, I'll basically just copy/paste your reply-

Greatly appreciated- & again, apologies for the site listing here,

Tracy


Quote:

Have they copied your site or done anything wrong?


I've been "tagged" as a PC person by the museum folks. That's why they asked me.

I believe that they are concerned that their museum is associated w/a site that advertises "farts & sex" at the top of the page- whilst people search for their actual site?

It could be something that they have no control over- but they want to know.....

Tracy
Back to top
silmaril8n



Joined: Jan 29, 2004
Posts: 1743

Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Mar 20, 2006 11:54 am    Post subject:

Quote:

I believe that they are concerned that their museum is associated w/a site that advertises "farts & sex" at the top of the page- whilst people search for their actual site?

It could be something that they have no control over- but they want to know.....

Tracy


Best thing to do would probably be to contact the host of the site (as previously mentioned). I've had sites shut down in the past but they were either a blatant copy or extremely slanderous to certain individuals. The difference though is that these were free hosts that I contacted to achieve this, not paid accounts. You may have a harder time in this case because of level of offensiveness and the fact that they are probably a paying customer for that host. Wouldn't hurt though. Most hosts have an "abuse@HOSTHERE.COM" email address setup to receive that type of information.
Back to top
AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Web Developers All times are: Eastern Time (US & Canada) (change)
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum