Help!

Help with Sims 2 Installation

 
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Game Invasion RSS
Next:  avs effects needed to use in.  
Author Message
ZEUS_GB



Joined: Jan 14, 2003
Posts: 5065

Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 11:51 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

If another drive reads it then it might mean that it's a problem with the drive. I've had problems in the past with one DVD not working on a particular drive, sometimes these things can be cured by a firmware update other times it's a case of using a different drive.
Back to top
kirstkit



Joined: May 31, 2008
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:04 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

FOR CD:

Go into My Computer.
Open drive C.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name the folder as Disk Images (it is important that the name has a space in it).
Open the disk images folder.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name this folder Disk1.
Repeat steps 6 and 7 while substituting Disk1 for Disk2 and so on until there are 4 'Disk' folders followed by a number 1 through 4. it is important to note there must not be a space between "Disk" and the number.
Insert Disk 1 of The Sims 2 into your CD-Rom drive and if the autoplay starts, cancel it.
Go into My Computer.
Right-click on your CD-ROM drive and choose Open.
When you see the contents of the disk in the Window, click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Select All.
All the contents of the disk should now be highlighted, click on Edit at the top of the window again and choose Copy.
Open the Disk1 folder you created under C:Disk Images; click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Paste. This will copy the contents of the CD into the Disk1 folder.
Repeat steps 9 through 14 for the remaining disks until you have copied each disk into its appropriate folder.
Once all the disks have been copied, remove ALL CDs from any drives.
Open the Disk1 folder under Disk Images and double-click on autorun.exe to start the installation.
To save disk space, you can delete the Disk Images folders after the installation is complete.

I don't Have A c: Drive

I have D: Drive
And E: Drive
I Have a Windows Computer
And Im Having trouble at 19%
I can't remeber what it was
but something to do with voice packeage
something..
My computer was rebooted and before it was rebooted it was fine
now i can't even install it
i have been trying for ages and im so fustrated
PLEASE CAN SOME ONE HELP
ME UNDERSTAND MY PROBLEM:( Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
ZEUS_GB



Joined: Jan 14, 2003
Posts: 5065

Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:14 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

kirstkit wrote:
FOR CD:

Go into My Computer.
Open drive C.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name the folder as Disk Images (it is important that the name has a space in it).
Open the disk images folder.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name this folder Disk1.
Repeat steps 6 and 7 while substituting Disk1 for Disk2 and so on until there are 4 'Disk' folders followed by a number 1 through 4. it is important to note there must not be a space between "Disk" and the number.
Insert Disk 1 of The Sims 2 into your CD-Rom drive and if the autoplay starts, cancel it.
Go into My Computer.
Right-click on your CD-ROM drive and choose Open.
When you see the contents of the disk in the Window, click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Select All.
All the contents of the disk should now be highlighted, click on Edit at the top of the window again and choose Copy.
Open the Disk1 folder you created under C:Disk Images; click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Paste. This will copy the contents of the CD into the Disk1 folder.
Repeat steps 9 through 14 for the remaining disks until you have copied each disk into its appropriate folder.
Once all the disks have been copied, remove ALL CDs from any drives.
Open the Disk1 folder under Disk Images and double-click on autorun.exe to start the installation.
To save disk space, you can delete the Disk Images folders after the installation is complete.

I don't Have A c: Drive

I have D: Drive
And E: Drive
I Have a Windows Computer
And Im Having trouble at 19%
I can't remeber what it was
but something to do with voice packeage
something..
My computer was rebooted and before it was rebooted it was fine
now i can't even install it
i have been trying for ages and im so fustrated
PLEASE CAN SOME ONE HELP
ME UNDERSTAND MY PROBLEM:( Evil or Very Mad


Hello kirstkit and welcome to Lockergnome!

Your hard drive must be assigned to a different letter. Anyway it's the one that's says local disk.
Back to top
redx



Joined: Jul 01, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:20 am    Post subject: hi zeus [Login to view extended thread Info.]

i have a serious problem.

i have installed sims 2 base and all the other expension packages.
i've played them with no problem.
A few weeks later, my computer has detected a virus, then i had to take my system to a back time (i mean the thing you do like, pushing f8 button constantly while pc was starting, and open safe mode then say system back time or something like that)
Then i've taken my system to a time that i haven't installed my sims games.
when i open computer, there was none of my sims games there, only their symbols.
─░'ve erased them, and i removed expension packages from file add/remove.
but when i was trying to remove sims 2 base, it told me there was one or more expansion packages that were installed and i should remove them before.
And i already did remove them.There are no symbol of them and none of them are in EA games folder.
Then i tried your manual uninstall stuff
and i re installed sims 2 base
but this time it didn't work
it said you're running a wron version, run ^*04* instead (^*04* doesnt mean anything, i mean there's no expensi─▒n pock that named)

I'm trying very hard but i'm totally stuck
Please help.
Back to top
mac3520000



Joined: Jul 05, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:08 am    Post subject: Re: Help with Sims 2 Installation [Login to view extended thread Info.]

My sims 2 game loads to 23% then a thing pops up saying

'D:\Support\European Help Files\De\whtbar.js'

what do I do?
Back to top
ZEUS_GB



Joined: Jan 14, 2003
Posts: 5065

Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:45 am    Post subject: Re: Help with Sims 2 Installation [Login to view extended thread Info.]

mac3520000 wrote:
My sims 2 game loads to 23% then a thing pops up saying

'D:\Support\European Help Files\De\whtbar.js'

what do I do?


Hello mac3520000 and welcome to Lockergnome!

7. The installation freezes or you get an installation error.

First thing to try obviously is to check the CD/DVD for scratches or marks and clean.

Try renaming the InstallShield folder.

Double-click on the My Computer icon.
Double-Click on the C:
Double-Click on Program Files then on Common Files.
Right-Click on the InstallShield folder.
Select Rename.
Rename it to InstallShieldOld.
Start the installation again to reinstall the InstallShield components with the newest version.

Try installing the game in Windows safe mode.

If that doesn't work try a copying the files to your hard drive and installing from there.

FOR CD:

Go into My Computer.
Open drive C.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name the folder as Disk Images (it is important that the name has a space in it).
Open the disk images folder.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name this folder Disk1.
Repeat steps 6 and 7 while substituting Disk1 for Disk2 and so on until there are 4 'Disk' folders followed by a number 1 through 4. it is important to note there must not be a space between "Disk" and the number.
Insert Disk 1 of The Sims 2 into your CD-Rom drive and if the autoplay starts, cancel it.
Go into My Computer.
Right-click on your CD-ROM drive and choose Open.
When you see the contents of the disk in the Window, click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Select All.
All the contents of the disk should now be highlighted, click on Edit at the top of the window again and choose Copy.
Open the Disk1 folder you created under C:\Disk Images; click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Paste. This will copy the contents of the CD into the Disk1 folder.
Repeat steps 9 through 14 for the remaining disks until you have copied each disk into its appropriate folder.
Once all the disks have been copied, remove ALL CDs from any drives.
Open the Disk1 folder under Disk Images and double-click on autorun.exe to start the installation.
To save disk space, you can delete the Disk Images folders after the installation is complete.

FOR DVD:

Insert the DVD into the DVD-rom drive. Exit the startup menu when it comes up.
Double click My Computer, then right click on the DVD-rom drive with the game DVD in it and select Explore.
Hold the CTRL key and then hit A. That should select all the folders and files.
Then hold CTRL and hit C. This will not look like it does much, but it's preparing to copy the files.
Close that folder and go to your desktop. Right click anywhere BUT on an icon, and Select New, then Folder. Name the folder Sims2 DVD.
Then double-click that folder, and hit CTRL and V. This will begin copying the files from the DVD.
Once the files are copied, remove the disc from the drive.
Double-click on the Setup icon in the folder.
You may delete the Sims2 DVD folder once the installation is complete.
Back to top
elliebabe91



Joined: Jul 07, 2008
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:29 am    Post subject: help with sims 2 installation [Login to view extended thread Info.]

hello.

I have the same issue as everyone. I have had sims 2 for years and it has always worked for me. Now wen i install it comes up at 9% saying 'A problem Occured trying to transfer 'TSdata/Res/Sound/Voice1.Package'

I Have tried everything on this forum.

I tried renaming the install shield folder to InstallShielOld, but that didnt work.

I tried manual installation but it stopped the copying at the compressed section saying 'cannot copy compressed: MS-DOS function'

I tried the manual installation with the windows registry but in the windows registry part in step 5 i couldnt find sims 2 in the EA games folder, i could only find sims superstar. So i couldnt continue.

I tried installing it in safe mode, it didnt work.

I tried installing it on my mums bran new laptop but it didnt work.

Please can u help me, i lovvvee playing sims 2 but it doesnt want to work at all Crying or Very sad I cant afford a new one, and its warranty is lonngg gone Crying or Very sad
Back to top
zantok



Joined: Jul 26, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2008 7:02 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

hii yea i had the same problem as u guys, i found out that its the disc that is scratched and it wont read it, to my amazement all i did was get a baby wipe and a tissue and cleaned it and it work soo lol tyr that and it should if it dosent ahh well wait for sims 3 this year or next year XD
Back to top
dannax



Joined: Jul 27, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

I've had so many problems installing. I have followed everyone and tried everyones solutions page by page. I'm stuck at 55% and it's having a problem copying control1.dat . Can anyone help me? I don't have any virtual drives, I've tried in Safe Mode, I have tried with DVD, CD, manually and anything else you can throw at me. But! Is there anything more one could do?
Back to top
andzzy



Joined: Aug 03, 2008
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:50 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Very Happy ok, so this is the way to solve all of the data problems. take the disk that is bad, and CLEAN IT UNDER RUNNING WATER!!!! i did this twice, and discovered that drying with a kleenex caused the disk to produce BAD results. clean with towel instead, i did, and now, i have a happy disk, free from errors, and am running the sims 2 perfectly.

(if you still have problems, you need to try a manual install.)

(i haven't tried this for the DVD version of the game. i hope it works the same though. Very Happy )
Back to top
Sira21



Joined: Aug 31, 2008
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:58 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Hello.

I'm having trouble with my Sims 2 too.

I'm not gonna lie. I donwloaded it, mounted to drives and fully installed it.

Then when I tried to run it, it asked me to put the correct CD in. But it was just monuted to a virtual drive, so I tohught I'd try burning to Cd and trying. Having done that, everytime I try it says 'eject and re insert cd, click ok and restart application. When I do, it says the same again.

Can anyone tell me what i need to do, or what I'm doing wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
ZEUS_GB



Joined: Jan 14, 2003
Posts: 5065

Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 9:47 am    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Sira21 wrote:
Hello.

I'm having trouble with my Sims 2 too.

I'm not gonna lie. I donwloaded it, mounted to drives and fully installed it.

Then when I tried to run it, it asked me to put the correct CD in. But it was just monuted to a virtual drive, so I tohught I'd try burning to Cd and trying. Having done that, everytime I try it says 'eject and re insert cd, click ok and restart application. When I do, it says the same again.

Can anyone tell me what i need to do, or what I'm doing wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.
Here at Lockergnome we don't help with illegal software. The problem you are having is because it's a illegal copy of the game. If you like the game and want to play the game then support the developer and buy the game.
Back to top
Sira21



Joined: Aug 31, 2008
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:16 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

ZEUS_GB wrote:
Here at Lockergnome we don't help with illegal software. The problem you are having is because it's a illegal copy of the game. If you like the game and want to play the game then support the developer and buy the game.


Lol, no. I went out and bought a legit copy and it still didn't work after set up.

That's when I discovered my video card wasn't up to spec. Very Happy
Back to top
lilly



Joined: Oct 18, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Help with Sims 2 Installation [Login to view extended thread Info.]

ZEUS_GB wrote:
Hello Simsluver13,

Quote:
7. The installation freezes or you get an installation error.

First thing to try obviously is to check the CD/DVD for scratches or marks and clean.
Try renaming the InstallShield folder.

Double-click on the My Computer icon.
Double-Click on the C:
Double-Click on Program Files then on Common Files.
Right-Click on the InstallShield folder.
Select Rename.
Rename it to InstallShieldOld.
Start the installation again to reinstall the InstallShield components with the newest version.

If that doesn't work try a copying the files to your hard drive and installing from there.

FOR CD:

Go into My Computer.
Open drive C.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name the folder as Disk Images (it is important that the name has a space in it).
Open the disk images folder.
Right-click inside the window and select New, and then Folder.
Name this folder Disk1.
Repeat steps 6 and 7 while substituting Disk1 for Disk2 and so on until there are 4 'Disk' folders followed by a number 1 through 4. it is important to note there must not be a space between "Disk" and the number.
Insert Disk 1 of The Sims 2 into your CD-Rom drive and if the autoplay starts, cancel it.
Go into My Computer.
Right-click on your CD-ROM drive and choose Open.
When you see the contents of the disk in the Window, click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Select All.
All the contents of the disk should now be highlighted, click on Edit at the top of the window again and choose Copy.
Open the Disk1 folder you created under C:Disk Images; click on Edit at the top of the window and choose Paste. This will copy the contents of the CD into the Disk1 folder.
Repeat steps 9 through 14 for the remaining disks until you have copied each disk into its appropriate folder.
Once all the disks have been copied, remove ALL CDs from any drives.
Open the Disk1 folder under Disk Images and double-click on autorun.exe to start the installation.
To save disk space, you can delete the Disk Images folders after the installation is complete.

FOR DVD:

Insert the DVD into the DVD-rom drive. Exit the startup menu when it comes up.
Double click My Computer, then right click on the DVD-rom drive with the game DVD in it and select Explore.
Hold the CTRL key and then hit A. That should select all the folders and files.
Then hold CTRL and hit C. This will not look like it does much, but it's preparing to copy the files.
Close that folder and go to your desktop. Right click anywhere BUT on an icon, and Select New, then Folder. Name the folder Sims2 DVD.
Then double-click that folder, and hit CTRL and V. This will begin copying the files from the DVD.
Once the files are copied, remove the disc from the drive.
Double-click on the Setup icon in the folder.
You may delete the Sims2 DVD folder once the installation is complete.
(Quote taken from my Sims 2 FAQ)







i have an issue installing my sims as well...
i did the whole cd thing n im stuck on the part of finding the autorun.exe in my computer.. i tried everything and cant install the first cd
Back to top
vicz



Joined: Dec 25, 2008
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 12:43 pm    Post subject: error [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Umm,, i'm sorry about ur tips zeus..

ive got the same prolems, my installation stopped at 19% when copyng sfx1.

so i follw ur tips but it still error..
can u tell me whats the problem?
i really like sims game and can't wait to play.. Very Happy

thx b4.. Wink
Back to top
Kort



Joined: Feb 05, 2009
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:38 pm    Post subject: i miss my sims =( [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Not long ago I uninstalled my sims 2. when i try to reinstall it says a problem occurred when trying to transfer the file from the media: 'TSData\Res\Sound\Sfx1.package'
Each time I click retry the percent goes up one and the same thing comes up again. I'd really appreciate some help.
Back to top
onlytruth



Joined: Feb 27, 2009
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 7:16 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Hey Zeus do you think you could help me out?

I just bought the Sims 2 Deluxe edition. When I try to install it after 1% I get the error

A problem occurred when trying to transfer file E: / support / EA Help / controller from the media

What does this mean, and what can I do to fix it?

I already renamed the Installshield folder, and I have copied the contents of the disc drive into a folder on my desktop. When I try to install by double clicking autorun I get something where I have to click open with, then it says Windows can't run it and I have to search for it on the internet.

I am on Vista, on a Lenovo Laptop. Specs:

You Have: 2 processors running - Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2330 @ 1.60GHz
You Have: 1.60 GHz Performance Rated at 3.59 GHz
You Have: 2.0 GB
You Have: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium Edition, 32-bit (Build Service Pack 16001)
You Have: Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family (Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family)

I cant really think of what the problem would be. I can run sims 2 fine according to systemrequirementslab, but I cant run double deluxe. I can run nightlife however, so I went ahead and bought the deluxe version since I could not find the original sims 2 anywhere. Help?
Back to top
princesspinkpanda



Joined: May 31, 2009
Posts: 2



PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 7:15 am    Post subject: 23% and stuck [Login to view extended thread Info.]

Okay so this is the story of my computer:

It was acting funny and by that I mean funny, aparently it used to have viruses and on top of that thanks to mostly my gaming (sims....) it's physical memory got clogged and decided to just die on me. So we sent it to our family friend and computer programmer to fix it. He did. And he installed our computer with about 6 times the memory. So that would have been no problem.

(For Example: I had to re-install my "World of Goo" which was previously on my computer. It went in like it never was reinstalled.)

Doing this he had to delete my games. Such as Sims 2 (original), Pets, Night Life, University, and Bon Voyage. Now I have to re-install the original, but here's the catch, my original was given out to a friend and lost. So now I am trying to install Sims 2 Holiday Edition.

I pop in my disk 1, enter the code, and the first disk loads just fine.

Step two: Pop in Second disk: at 23% it just STOPS. Dead. I tried doing the normal process but it doesn't work.

I'm not that much of a whiz at computers but I've been around. So I'll try your suggestions about the renaming thing, but can't find that, so I'm going to ask, what does installing it in safe mode do? Can it work outside of safe mode? (if installed into that mode, playing on normal mode...) Before I try this I would love to get those answered.

ALSO! These disks are fairly new, i would know i gave them to my friend who perfectly downloaded it onto her computer. So they aren't scratched.

Thanks..
PS: I'm dependent on that game on my PC. Its my life support for gaming.

- Celiy
Back to top
hannuh1609



Joined: Jul 08, 2009
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:07 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

I'm also struggling with the installation of the Sims 2.
It gets to about 21% and tells me that it can't complete installation because it can't find TSData\Res\Sound\Sfx1.package

Can someone help me? It would be so much appreciated.

I have a Sony VAIO, also... I'm not sure if the kind of computer makes a big difference.
Back to top
EMPLEH



Joined: Aug 26, 2009
Posts: 1



PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:16 pm    Post subject: [Login to view extended thread Info.]

I have the same issue as everyone. When i install it comes up at 8% saying 'A problem Occured trying to transfer 'TSdata/Res/Sound/Voice1.Package'. HELP MEEEEE !!! Please! Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   General Reply to Topic (not reply to a specific post)    Forums Home -> Game Invasion All times are: Eastern Time (US & Canada)
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10
Page 9 of 10

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum